Prominent Dominicans to Receive Meritorious Service Awards

Fifteen prominent individuals and organizations will be recognized for their outstanding contribution to public life at the Parade of Uniformed Groups on November 03rd 2012.

Each year on November 03rd the Meritorious Service Award is presented by the country’s head of State to persons who have rendered commendable service to the Commonwealth of Dominica.

This year, the Sisserou Award of Honour, Dominica’s second highest award will be bestowed on two individuals. Mr.Leo Jules Bernard Nicholas will be awarded for his work in the area of Trade Union Leadership while Mr. George Alexander Royer will be recognized for his contributions in the field of Public Service.

The third highest honour, the Meritorious Service Award will be conferred on Bishop Michael Bill Daniel for his service in the Pastoral Ministry, Mr. Clement Montgomery Carty for his service in the Cooperative Management Sector, Mr. Fred Anthony Nicholas for Music, Mr. Stephenson Hyacinth for Drama, Volunteer Optometric Services to Humanity (VOSH) Mission for eye and vision care, the Dominica Association of St. Thomas Inc. for Community Service and Mr. Rawlings Franklyn Adolphus Jemmot for Trade Union Leadership.

The Services Medal of Honour will be given to Renate Seigenthaler for Community Service, Mr. Algernon Elias Fingal for Business, Mr. Austin Harris for Fisheries and Mr. Harold Albert Sealey for Poetry and Drama.

Long service medals of honour will be conferred on Ms. Joan James for her work in health and Mr.Peterson Austrie for his work in Education.

This year’s Parade of Uniformed Groups to be held at the Windsor Park Stadium will begin at 8:00 a.m.